Christopher Bandt, President

Wisconsin Defense Counsel (WDC) is a statewide organization of attorneys dedicated to the defense of Wisconsin citizens and businesses, the maintenance of an equitable civil justice system, and the education of its members.

WDC’s over 500 members firmly believe in the rights of the injured to be fairly compensated; equally they believe that the defendant’s rights are crucial to the integrity of the court system. The defendants they represent, as well as their insurance carriers, must also receive fair and equal treatment under the law.

Our legal system can only be preserved when the fragile balance of impartial justice is maintained.

WDC members are advocates for the rights of people or businesses sued. Our primary role is to provide a professional defense for people and businesses involved in civil lawsuits.

More >>


2022 WDC Spring Conference
The American Club
Kohler, WI
April 7-8, 2022

2022 Young Lawyer Seminar
Neenah, WI
June 24, 2022

2022 WDC Annual Conference
Wilderness Resort & Glacier Canyon Conference Center
Wisconsin Dells, WI
August 4-5, 2022

2022 WDC Winter Conference
Milwaukee Marriott West
Waukesha, WI
December 9, 2022


WDC is a statewide association of attorneys who practice primarily in the defense of civil litigation. WDC was formed in 1962 and has grown to over 500 attorneys. We offer a variety of activities and services for the defense attorney.

See entire list of benefits

Thank You to the 2022 WDC Sponsors

WDC Journals

Current issue includes Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.
Current Issue and Archive

2021 WDC Advocate of the Year Award Winner

The recipient of the 2021 WDC Advocate of the Year Award is Sheila Sullivan, Bell, Moore & Richter, S.C.. Sheila’s nominator notes that, “Sheila is a quiet, unsung hero in the insurance defense field. She has single-handedly taken over the editing of the Arnold Anderson book on Insurance Law that is considered the ‘bible’ of insurance law.

See all the award winners >>